Day 158 – Julia

Heard a parent introduce her gay daughter in a really natural, comfortable way last night, and it really warmed my heart.  The other day someone referred to Alex as my “Friend” rather than my wife of six years, and that came on the back of hearing lots of homophobic dodginess.  A friend has also been confiding in me about difficulties in coming out to her parents repeatedly, so it was really nice to be reminded that there are healthy, happy, normal parents who can say things like “my daughter’s girlfriend” without stuttering or sputtering or whispering.  Warmed the cockles of my slightly jaded heart. Also, the daughter’s girlfriend’s puppy was the cutest thing I’ve EVER seen.  Fuzzy happiness all round.

Leave a Reply

