Day 250 – Julia

MS Word and I have a long history of disagreement about long documents, especially once I put the figures in. So, when we parted ways somewhat irrevocably this morning, I had already backed everything up repeatedly. In three places. Ha! I will finish editing the text and then use sections rather than inserting all the figures as I go. But look how awesome one of my figures is! I have to thank my grandmother for this (among many things), as she was the one who showed me a map/graph of Napoleon’s ill-fated march on Russia and then gave me the book [The Visual Display of Quantitative Information, by Edward Tufte], which is where I learned that graphics don’t have to be bar graphs.

 

 

Image

 

(Yes, that graph was of Napoleon’s retreat from Moscow – you can see it here (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Minard.png) if you want to know what I’m talking about. (Other more reputable locations are also available…)

Leave a Reply

